Guild Artists

Christina Rice recently retired from an overly long stay in a non-art-related career and now has time to pursue things she really enjoys, like art. She now works fulltime in her own business, Avenue One Web Design, and creates portraits of people and animals.

Her portraits are done in high detail and dramatic contrast. She works mostly in dry media such as charcoal, graphite and pastel but occasionally explores painting and mixed media. "I've been fascinated with faces as long as I can remember. A small detail can make an amazing difference in capturing someone's likeness and personality. Even the placement of an eyelash can change a portrait's expression and what it says about a person."

She's a member of the Aiken Artist Guild, the Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art and the Artists' Guild of Columbia County. Her work has been shown in galleries and juried art exhibits in the United States, and has won awards from the Portrait Society of Atlanta

Click on the images below for larger views.

2017 Meetings

The Guild meets monthly, alternating second Tuesdays and Saturdays at Church of Our Savior, 4227 Columbia Road.

Saturday, January 14, 10:30 am
Saturday, February 11, 10:30 am
Saturday, March 11, 10:30 am
Tuesday, April 11, 7:00pm
Saturday, May 13, 10:00 am AT ART IN THE PARK
Tuesday, June 13, 7:00pm
Tuesday, July 11, 7:00 pm
Tuesday, August 8, 7:00pm 
Saturday, September 9, 10:30 am
Tuesday, October 10, 7:00pm
Saturday, November 11, 10:30 am

Support the Guild through Amazon Smile!

Now, whenever you buy things at Amazon, you can donate to the Guild via the Amazon Smile program.

Artists' Guild of Columbia County is now a member of Amazon Smile Foundation. 0.5% of the purchase price of eligible products goes to charitable organizations selected by their customers.

  • Go to AmazonSmile >>> smile.amazon.com <<<
  • Choose Artists Guild of Columbia County (EIN:20-1342002)
  • Funds will be awarded quarterly.

For those of you who already shop Amazon, this change will be insignificant to you but very significant to the Guild. For those of you who have yet to shop Amazon, now is a good reason to give it a try.