Sue Porterfield

I retired from the Medical College of Georgia in 2000. I have always loved art and been involved with various artistic pursuits all my life. However, retirement has given me the opportunity to seriously pursue my interest in art. I have studied with multiple artists including David Mascaro (Augusta), Del Holt (SC), Kelly Arnold (FL), and Gregg Kreutz (Scottsdale Artists School). I am one of the original members of the Columbia County Artists Guild as well as being a member of the Aiken Artist Guild. I have exhibited in multiple local venues including the Gertrude Herbert Art Institute, Aiken Center for the Arts, Pastel on Central, Mascaro Studio and Gallery, the Twisted Fence Gallery (Harlem), Arts in the Heart of Augusta, the Columbia
County Library and multiple local art shows.

I like representational art and my favorite topics to paint are people and animals. I love color and the effects that can be achieved using multiple layers of glazing to provide rich, deep colors. My preferred medium is oil paints on canvas.

2020 Meetings

DUE TO COVID, MEETINGS WILL BE HELD VIRTUALLY ON ZOOM.  Members will be sent a Zoom link for the next meeting.

The Guild meets monthly, alternating second Tuesdays & Saturdays.

Saturday January 11 – 10:30 am
Tuesday February 11 – 7pm
Saturday March 14 – 10:30
Tuesday April 14 – 7pm
Saturday May 9 - 1030
Tuesday, June 9 – 6:30pm
Saturday, July 11 – 10:30am 
Tuesday, August 11 – 6:30pm
Saturday, September 12 - 1030am
Tuesday, October 13 – 6:30pm
Saturday, November 14 – 1030am
Tuesday, December 8 - 6:30pm

Support the Guild through Amazon Smile!

Now, whenever you buy things at Amazon, you can donate to the Guild via the Amazon Smile program.

Artists' Guild of Columbia County is now a member of Amazon Smile Foundation. 0.5% of the purchase price of eligible products goes to charitable organizations selected by their customers.

  • Go to AmazonSmile >>> smile.amazon.com <<<
  • Choose Artists Guild of Columbia County (EIN:20-1342002)
  • Funds will be awarded quarterly.

For those of you who already shop Amazon, this change will be insignificant to you but very significant to the Guild. For those of you who have yet to shop Amazon, now is a good reason to give it a try.